3 Martial Arts Instructors Share What They Wish They Knew Before Opening Their Dojos

Martialytics
3 min readApr 27, 2021

--

The decision to open a martial arts school is a big one, and involves so much more then just teaching. In the early days of operating, instructors find themselves wearing many business hats — most of which they have no prior experience in.

We asked 3 of our most established customers to share what the one thing they wish you knew before opening their dojos. Here is what they had to say…

Students back in face-to-face classes at Verve Karate after Covid-19 restrictions are lifted in the UK.

Ash Simonds, Verve Karate

I wish I had known that you just can’t do everything yourself. When I started my school I thought I would be able to take on every single task myself…teaching, admin, advertising, ordering and processing. I enjoy every task of running a school, but it can be counterproductive if you allow them to take away from the main point of you being an instructor… teaching and looking after your team.

If I could give new instructors one piece of advice it would be to get the right people in place helping you do the right things. Also have a mentor in place for you for martial arts and the business side. Don’t burn yourself out, let go to grow.

Sensei Josh Page at his dojo in North Carolina, US.

Josh Page, Hickory Martial Arts

One of the things I wished I would have known before I opened the Academy in 2004 would be how much of an impact our words have on our students.

We have the ability to build people up or tear them down in an instant, and our words have the potential to stick around in peoples heads for the rest of their lives.

Knowing that the words I speak can not just affect someone for a class, but for the rest of their lives, or be the words that they repeat to their children is such a great responsibility and opportunity to sow some amazing seeds in the lives of our students, their families, and our communities.

I hope there are some students of mine out there with my voice reminding them that they are strong, they can achieve great things, they are enough, and that with hard work all things are possible…and of course “keep your hands up!”.

Alex at Hale Karate Club in Manchester.

Alex Cockx, Hale Karate Club

Something I wish I had known was how much more efficient management software has made things.

When we opened our doors in 2012 (now 9 years old) it was all paper operated and stored in filing cabinets left up to the member to make payments, and it caused a lot of headaches. The move to electronic management systems has allowed everything to be housed under one roof, provide reliable and consistent methods of all facets in the club and allowed us to spend more time on the club, and it’s development as opposed to in the club dealing with labour intensive and bothersome tasks.

If anyone is thinking of setting up their own dojo I would strongly urge them to start with a management software already in place as it makes things so easier and hassle free.

Want help managing your dojo more efficiently? Get in touch at support@martialytics.com.

--

--

Martialytics

We make software that helps martial arts school owners manage their business better. www.martialytics.com